Sam Burns, US Open
Digest more
13h
Golf Digest on MSNU.S. Open 2025: Did Sam Burns get robbed of title shot by a 'temporary water' ruling?Like any savvy patient who gets a bad diagnosis, Sam Burns wanted a second opinion. When his drive on Oakmont’s par-4 15th hole stayed on the fairway next to the first cut, he seemed to catch a good break. But when Burns arrived at the ball, it looked and felt to him that it was sitting in standing water from the day’s earlier heavy rain storm.
Sickened Sam Burns has spoken out on the hugely-controversial decision which finally blew apart his US Open dream. The American star was at the centre of a massive drama in the final stages at Oakmont and seemed to be the victim of a hotly-contested call from tournament officials.
When Sam Burns stood over his tee shot on the 15th hole in the final round of the U.S. Open, he was in a tie for the lead. When he walked off the green, he was two shots back and essentially out of contention. What transpired in between is a questionable ruling that very much led to the double bogey Burns carded on the hole.
PGA Tour pro Billy Horschel questioned the casual water rule after Sam Burns was denied a free relief during the final round of the US Open 2025. He was in the lead after 54 holes at 4-under.
Sam Burns took a one-shot lead into the final round of the U.S. Open at Oakmont. From there, things did not go well.
Golf fans were left scratching their heads at a ‘bizarre’ ruling which helped JJ Spaun win the US Open in brutal conditions at Oakmont. Spaun, 34, clinched by far the biggest win of his career as the only player to finish below par in the second major of 2025.
GULLANE, Scotland – Sam Burns’ adventure ... that led to triple-bogey 8. Burns’ second shot from the fairway bunker launched too low to clear the lip and the ball hung on the wall. He called for a ruling and two officials, one from the PGA Tour ...